Photos, Photos, and…More photos!

“Please give me one! T.T” says the caption on one of the photos.

So we’ve ran our photo contest on Facebook for about a little over a week now and the response I saw for the contest was actually quite surprising.

It has only been a few months since I’ve started working at this company and taken over the whole social networking aspect of it. Our Facebook had started off with merely 7 likes in the beginning which has grown well over 5000 within the past 3 months!

I’ve spread coupons, deals, sales and so much more trying to engage with our fans in the hopes that when I put up a contest like this, the response would be quick and immediate. I wanted to see hundreds of entries pour in the moment I posted it hoping it would justify the work I do here on a daily basis. But of course I realized that a company’s social network profile becomes so popular and great not over night but through hard work over a lengthy amount of time. The social networking is definitely part of business but it is also a way to connect with our customers on a more personal level. It’s that personable nature of some of these large companies that makes them such a success whether it be in the business world or the Social networking circle.

As a strictly E-commerce based business, it’s hard to have face to face interactions or any kind of interaction that you could consider personal. I wanted this photo contest to be the ram that breaks through that barrier. I knew that as our first contest I could not expect much despite my desire to see hundreds of entries.

We started out with no entries. I sat there refreshing the page a few times to make sure it wasn’t malfunctioning.

Day 2 brought in two entries. and now we’re at day 8 with 12 entries.

It was more than I could ask for. I was encouraged, to say the least. People were posting pictures of their children on our contest page! Maybe we’ve broken through that barrier that separates us from our customers as just a robot processing papers. I can’t wait to see more entries.

So a big thank you to our followers as well as those who entered our contest.

I’ll leave you with this. Even if you don’t win this time around, I can guarantee you there will be more stuff similar to this contest so don’t forget about us just yet!

Leave a Reply

